Just the beginning

THROUGH THIS BLOG, I hope that aspiring authors will follow the trials and errors, fortunes and successes, of a fledgling independent publishing company.
The aim is to present a step-by-step guide on how to publish a book – hopefully successfully – as well as to show people how not to do it. This can only be achieved through trial, error and a lot of support from the writing communities out there.
Starting from the very beginning, Ivy Moon Press was founded by me, an unpublished ‘fantasy’ author whose style and content do not fit neatly into BIC’s standard publishing categories, nor do they strictly adhere to a particular formula set down by existing literary successes.
With the unparalleled rise of the eBook and Amazon, cross-genre fiction – which was once mainly sniffed at by the big publishing houses – is now being brought to readers worldwide and even the great publishing legends are seeing the benefits of embracing a less stringent approach to categorisation.
The internet has shown its true value to authors as anyone is now able to publish a book without the costs of vanity houses and without those dreaded rejection letters. Competition to reach the top spots is very stiff, however, and it is easy for a good novel to become buried under the eternal pile of virtual pages, lost to the world and never to be seen again. 
As a writer, I believe it is important to listen to your own voice and stay true to your beliefs in your work. At the same time, it is equally crucial to listen to other writers and take any criticism as constructive, especially advice from those who are trying to help you.
I am now over myself, taken advice on the chin and have overcome the fears of failure.
I have been a writer for all of my career – albeit in the media and professional titles. I have been a commissioning editor and a features writer. I am a photographer, graphic designer and can even build websites. Above all, I am an author of a number of fiction novels that will never see the light of day unless I submit them to a publishing company and hope for the best, or start up my own publishing house and see where the journey leads.
 No doubt, the road will go ever on but I hope that my efforts will attract some interest and help writers like me to realise their dreams. 
Sara Bain
4 thoughts on “Just the beginning

  1. Michael Malone says:

    Best of luck, Sara. Can’t wait to hear how you get on.

  2. ivymoonpress says:

    Thanks Michael. You’ll certainly be one of the first to know!

  3. That picture is so haunting and atmospheric, Sara. The best of luck with your new venture.

  4. ivymoonpress says:

    Thanks Maggie. I made it up from my stock picture of a stone dyke, took a picture of the next door neighbour’s ivy and painted it into the dyke. Then made the moon, the stars and sky and put it all together. It says just what I want it to say.

Ivy Moon Press would love to hear your views (provided they're not objectionable or rude) on any of this blog's content.

