A Smashing time

I PROMISED to be honest and quite honestly I am the end of my tether.

I now understand why the popular internet e-publishing and distribution platform is called Smashwords. After the thousandth time I’ve uploaded my manuscript in every format known to man, I feel like smashing something.

My manuscript continues to fail the ePub check. There are many reasons why the reflowable content open e-book system will spit out your precious manuscript with coloured text, sci-fi fonts and character displays that are only seen on ancient Egyptian tombs, but I just don’t understand its logic.

I even tried their ‘nuclear’ method of copying and pasting all 350-odd pages of Word into notepad (which removed all the formatting) and then reformatting it in accordance with their guidelines. Unfortunately, I believe it will take a nuclear weapon of mass destruction to fix the problem.

Fortunately, the formatting problem only affects one chapter so it looks as though I’m going to have to find the time to re-type it and hope for the best. 

One lives and one learns.

2 thoughts on “A Smashing time

  1. If you are having problems with Smashwords formatting Sara I suggest you contact @ePrintedBooks on twitter. They provide a great formatting service at an easily affordable price. I have had a number of documents formatted by Steve and he is on the ball and VERY fast. Good luck!!!

Ivy Moon Press would love to hear your views (provided they're not objectionable or rude) on any of this blog's content.

